VIDEO RELEASED: 6th SuM4All Consortium Meeting

Date & Time
January 16th, 2019

Room: MC 13-121, World Bank Headquarters, 1818 H Street NW, Washington, DC 20433

Event Info


SuM4All wound up its 6th Consortium Meeting in Washington DC on January 16, 2019, amidst much excitement over the Global Roadmap of Action (GRA) toward Sustainable Mobility. For the first time, high-level policy-makers and global thought leaders were invited to engage and share their insights on the proposed roadmap. Inspirational speakers, including Transport Minister Guillermo Dietrich, Mayor Mauricio Rodas, Special Representative of the United Nation's Secretary General Rachel Kyte and World Bank Senior Vice President Mahmoud Mohieldin, challenged SuM4All Members to think "bold and fast."

The GRA effort is backed by over 50 leading organizations in the transport and mobility space, including regional development banks, UN agencies, private companies and civil society. It will lay the pathway for public and private decision-makers to bring the world back on track! The proposed roadmap is available for feedback and ideas until mid-February. This Consortium Meeting kicked off the engagement of SuM4All with country and city decision-makers.

Huge thanks to our session moderators: Young Tae Kim (International Transport Forum), Guangzhe Chen (World Bank), Susanna Zammataro (International Road Federation), Jan Hoffman (UN Conference on Trade and Development) and Katherin Hamilton (38 North Solutions). 

Thanks to our discussants: H.E. Guillermo Dietrich (Minister of Transport for Argentina), Honorable Mauricio Rodas Espinel (Mayor of Quito, Ecuador), Rachely Kyte (Sustainable Energy for All), Dr. Nancy Vandycke (World Bank), Tony Marshall (ARUP), José Viegas (University of Lisbon), Carole Escolan (International Union of Railways), Bill Halkias (ATTICA Tollway Operation Authority), Henry Gourdji (International Civil Aviation Organization), Sophie Punte (Smart Freight Center), Bronwen Thornton (Walk 21), Julie Furber (Cummins), Dr. Michael Traver (Aramco Services Company) and Dr. Jeffrey Lidicker (California Air Resources Board). 

We also thank our Member organizations participating in this year's Consortium Meeting: Asian Development Bank, Agence Française de Développement, Air Transport Action Group, BIRD, German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Banco de Desarrollo de América Latina, Climate Works Foundation, Despacio, Department for International Development, European Cyclists’ Federation, Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile, International Civil Aviation Organization, International Energy Agency, International Center for Transport Diplomacy, International Transport Worker's Federation, International Road Assessment Programme, International Road Federation, International Road Transport Union, Islamic Development Bank, Institute for Transportation and Development Policy, International Transport Forum, KfW, Michelin, World Road Association - PIARC, Research for Community Access Partnership, Partnership on Sustainable Low Carbon Transport, Smart Freight Center, International Union of Railways, International Association of Public Transport, UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs, UN Economic Comission for Europe, UN Office of the High Representative for the Least Developed Countries Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States, UN Conference on Trade and Development, Walk 21, World Business Council on Sustainable Development, World Health Organization, World Bicycle Relief, World Resources Institute, UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, World Bank--and our numerous observers.